July 4th Packing List

IMG_1315It’s a long weekend for many but  getting all your stuff organized to leave can be stressful. My youngest daughter remembered how I used to make packing lists for her so she jumped in and made one for me. Here it is:

Mom’s Packing List…

  • Walking shoes, sandals/flip-flops
  • Shirts
  • Shorts
  • Pants
  • Pajamas
  • Bathing suit
  • Underwear & bras
  • Socks
  • Dresses
  • Deodorant & razor
  • Jewelry
  • Computer & charger
  • Journal & books
  • Water bottle
  • Toothbrush & toothpaste (and floss!)
  • Makeup & lotions
  • Shampoo & conditioner
  • Sunscreen & hat (I was not very careful about using sunscreen at her age!) 
  • Beach towel and bath towel
  • Camera!
  • Here’s my favorite item: Condoms

The 2 underlined items are proof positive that my daughter, soon to be entering high school, has been paying close attention in health class. I think there’s a good chance she won’t get burned– on all fronts.

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Vía-logue. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 4th Packing List

  1. beebeejaybee says:

    Wow I must start making lists like this for myself, something like the lists we used to get for Guide camps

    nice that the important bits of education are sticking, smart girl

  2. Before my daughter could read, I used to draw a picture of each item on her list. Your quilts are so beautiful– perhaps you could make an appliqued quilt, like a list, with visual images!

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

