The Sunday Paper

IMG_1158I don’t understand why some people prefer to read the news online. I like the ritual of walking to the corner store to buy a Sunday paper, coming home to pour myself a cup of coffee, and flipping through the sections of the paper to decide which one I want to read first. Serendipity is a wonderful thing– a word, a picture, a headline catches my eye and I’m soon engrossed in some obscure topic I might never have considered if I hadn’t turned the page.

I’m sad that print circulation of newspapers continues to decline. In 1950, the total paid circulation for U.S. Sunday newspapers was over 46 million, or roughly equivalent to 107% of American households. By 2010, the total paid circulation for Sunday papers had declined to just over 44 million. Of course the population in the U.S. increased over those 60 years, so this figure was equivalent to just over 37% of households.

I don’t know if more people are reading the news online. It’s also possible that more people are not paying any attention to the news at all. Either way, I suppose (looking on the bright side) there are fewer papers out there in the world that we have to recycle. On the other hand, if everyone did have stacks of newspapers lying around, we could use them to make art. IMG_1163

Today, which happened to be a Sunday, I went to the deCordova Sculpture Park in Lincoln, Massachusetts and saw an installation by Steven Siegel called “Big, with rift.” Nearly 32 feet long, it is made out of newspaper that was provided by the Worcester Telegram & Gazette. (Did they donate the papers they couldn’t sell due to declining circulation rates?) “Flora”– the other material used– is growing out of the top of the tower of newspapers.  Siegel’s sculpture was installed in 2009 but looks like it could remain there for some time to come. I couldn’t help but wonder if one day a child will visit the sculpture park with a parent and ask, “Mommy, what are all those papers? Where did they come from?” And, after the parent explained the purpose of a Sunday paper, the child might also ask, “Why?”

IMG_1171IMG_1166

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Good Reads and Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Sunday Paper

  1. Jody and Ken says:

    You skipped What’s above/below the fold–one of the great distinctions. Electronic editions are functional for, say, today when my NYT didn’t arrive, or for research. But it ain’t the same. Ken

    • I love “what’s above or below the fold”! And yes, I do appreciate the ability we have to research just about anything with a few clicks. But Serendipity offers different opportunities when she dons that paper dress.

  2. Jody and Ken says:

    P.S. I’ve cruised through DeCordova several times in the last year. How could I have missed this? Ken

  3. The installation is down a little path and in a carved out area of the ground so that it’s hidden from view. Looks like it will be there for a while to come, so you’ll have a chance to see it the next time you visit.

  4. Pamela Hodgdon says:

    I remember having time to sit down with a Sunday paper. I sadly miss it.

    • I don’t always get a chance either, but perhaps it makes it that much sweeter when I do get around to it. The online world brings many blessings but I think it makes me try to do more and more in less and less time… Thanks for taking a moment to stop by here!

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

