Book Festivals

The 29th Miami Book Fair International, the largest literary festival in the U.S., took place this weekend.  I would have loved to have been there.  The outdoor street fair hosts over 250 publishers and booksellers, writers from the U.S. and abroad converge as part of the Festival of Authors, and everyone who loves the written word can get lost in the world of books.  It also doesn’t hurt that the daytime temperatures in Miami during this time of year are in the balmy mid- to upper 70s (sigh).

This was also the weekend of the 36th annual Boston International Antiquarian Book Fair.  If I couldn’t be in Miami, why not go and admire history?  Who doesn’t love to open an old book with its slightly musty smell and yellowing pages?

I was walking out the door to attend when I learned that the main plumbing drain in my building was blocked.  Without going into all the details, it was quickly apparent that if I wanted the problem fixed, I needed to be the one to stay home and locate a plumber.

So today I didn’t get to hold any ancient books, nor did I get to be part of the eight-day literary party in Miami (among hundreds of thousands of book lovers).  I guess there’s always someone who has to deal with the messes that are left behind.  Today that someone was me.

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Good Reads and Writes, Vía-logue and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

