Tara’s World: Email from France

Hi Mommy,

My plantar warts are going away.  I was treating them semi-constantly for the first week where we stayed in Montpellier but once we started traveling more and staying at places for shorter times, I became a bit less constant.  I have already gotten rid of one wart, I have one that is just the size of the head of a pin, and pieces have fallen off of my biggest wart.  They don’t look like dead skin anymore but more like fluffy-ish very white skin, like bits of clouds.  That is, if warts can look like bits of clouds.

It’s our last day in Paris.  It’s 100 degrees here but since where we’re staying is surrounded by tall rock houses, it doesn’t feel like it.  Yesterday we went to this old old town where some of the buildings have been there since 1200!!  That was when France wasn’t even a country and was just a few towns at war with themselves!   We saw a jousting/horse riding skit that had really cool costumes.  A cat stepped on my plate during lunch but it was okay because it didn’t step in any ketchup or food (and I had practically nothing left on the plate.  Plus the cat was cute.)

We head home tomorrow at 1:30 (French time) and get back at 3:00 in the afternoon (Boston time).  I’m a bit sad because I have lots of zits (one on my lip-snot-canal and two on either side of my nose.  I’ve been picking them (but trying not to) because I’ve been sweating a lot.  I sort of wish I had brought some makeup because the guys in France dress a lot better and have better hair cuts but I figured if I was somehow going to be friends with one of them, I wouldn’t want them depending on a mask of make up, I would want them to see me with my imperfections too.

Well, I’ve talked about what we’ve been doing, where we are staying, what the temperature is like, my warts, when we leave, French dudes, and my zits so I have nothing much else to say.

Love,

Tara

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Child's Play and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

