Yoga

Sunday morning and it’s hard to get out of bed.  But I really need to go to my favorite yoga class.  Yesterday, I celebrated the arrival of warmer weather by traveling with a friend to the north shore and consuming (nearly inhaling) a large combo plate of fried fish, clams, shrimp, scallops, french fries and onion rings.  And later that evening, for the sake of total transparency, I will confess that I also enjoyed a couple of martinis. 

My favorite part of yoga is the last part, when we all lie in “corpse pose” and let the world slip away.  My yoga instructor (who also happens to be a Reiki practitioner), comes around to each person in the room, placing a cool stone on our foreheads and offering a short head massage.  (I can tell you, that feels particularly yummy after a martini night).  

So I lie there in Savasana, allowing myself to release into the floor.  Of course, thoughts are marching through my mind but I try to watch them pass, as if I’m a spectator at a spring parade.  Some go by like little girls just learning to hold a baton, swinging their arms back and forth in a gentle rhythm and I smile, while some thoughts blast through my brain like a full marching band.  Let go.  Let go.  Let go and brreeeeeeeeeathe.   Just as I feel like I’m finally sinking deeper into my mat and the marching bands have headed into the distance, we are told to wiggle our fingers and toes and bring our awareness back to the room. 

Before we roll up our mats and retrieve our shoes and socks, our instructor reminds us to remember the peace we felt in our yoga practice today.  When something goes wrong (and it will) or when we find ourselves feeling grumpy or impatient or angry (and we will) perhaps we can recall that peace and even forgive ourselves and others. 

Today, I went to yoga for my body, to ask forgiveness for my overindulgence from the day before.  Okay, I admit, I might also need a small dose of forgiveness for today.  On the way back from yoga I picked up some lovely gooey cinnamon buns…

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Vía-logue and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yoga

  1. Jennifer says:

    I am so honored to lead your favorite yoga class! I am glad that you are able to share yourself so openly, both on your mat and in the real world. I hope you enjoyed your indulgences without too much guilt – they make life worth living!

  2. Barbara says:

    I totally agree–savasana is my favorite part of a yoga session…that well earned sinking into relaxation. It’s always over too quickly. Hoping to get to one of Jen’s Sunday am classes. Enjoying your blog!!

    p.s. Can you believe I’ve never had a martini!

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

