Yin… or Yang?

Yesterday, as I traveled across the river on the subway, I got thinking about male and female energies.  This was prompted by an interesting sequence of messages.  First, I found a slip of paper in my coat pocket and rediscovered a poem I love:                                

Untitled by Philip Appleman
  
O Karma, Dharma, pudding and pie,
gimme a break before I die:
grant me wisdom, will & wit,
purity, probity, pluck & grit.
            Trustworthy, loyal, helpful, kind,
            gimme great abs & a steel-trap mind,
and forgive, Ye Gods, some humble
advice—
            these little blessings would suffice
              to beget an earthly paradise:
              make the bad people good—
                and the good people nice:
and before our world goes over the
brink,
            teach the believers how to think.
 

I then marveled at this ad posted above the windows:

 Are you in the U.S. military or a veteran and disturbed by the terrible things you have experienced?  We are conducting a study of yoga as a treatment for your condition.  The yoga is easy to perform and does does not require flexibility or fitness…
 

A newspaper was left open on the seat next to me and as my eyes wandered over the page, I caught this headline:

 Post-sex blues plague a third of young women.
 

Too much.  I shut my eyes, turned on my headphones and listened to a talk by Rick Jarow:

 The interaction in the dynamism of creation… is very similar to the yin and yang will.  The primary process, often associated with the yang will, is what you are trying to consciously accomplish: ‘I’m going here, I’m doing this, I’m meeting them.’  The secondary process, more asscociated with the yin will, is the life that happens while you’ve made other plans.  In a culture that is heavily yang, heavily masculine, heavily weighted in… doing, accomplishing, making and planning, it is all too easy to miss the great gifts of the yin will of the secondary process.  Think of things like penicillin… which all happened while people were looking for something else.  Our work… is consciously opening to our primary processes and our secondary processes and letting the dynamism between them play into action…  Thesis and antithesis create the third: synthesis.  The rounding out of synthesis brings us to completion.
  

Photo by Debka of mural by Salvador

As I look back, I think I could say that yesterday became a “yin day” for me, when things just seemed to happen. I ended the day at a divorce celebration/birthday party for a woman friend (only women were invited).  The food was excellent and the wine, laughter, and conversation flowed.  Just before the dancing started, I stepped from the kitchen into the large open living room and witnessed this event: One woman, holding a beautifully decorated chocolate sheet cake in her hands, was wildly chasing after the 40-something year old birthday girl.  They looped through the crowd of women like a lioness chasing a gazelle.  Suddenly the lioness threw the cake at the gazelle and a spontaneous food fight erupted…  Yin energy?  Maybe.  But when it was all over, that same yin energy- lots of it- got down on our knees and cheerfully cleaned up the mess.   

                                                                                                     

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Vía-logue and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

