A View from Tara’s World, Age 10

One night, Tara left a slip of paper on my pillow that she had cut out from somewhere (she couldn’t remember where).  She said she thought it had a good message and she wanted to share it with me:

Full of Ourselves Proclamation:

A girl who is full of herself, in the best sense of the phrase, might say 10 things like this:

I know who I am.

I know that I matter.

I know what matters to me.

I pay attention to what I feel and what I need.

I make choices and decisions that are good for me.

I take care of my body.

I stand up for what I believe in.

I let people know what I think, even when I’m angry or confused or in disagreement with everyone else.

I am a valuable friend.

I know I can make a positive difference in the world in my own unique way.

I told her these are words I need to live by and that I think she already does a pretty good job following this advice.  Though I do wonder if the choice to eat chocolate ice cream instead of anything with mushrooms in it would be considered good for you…?

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Child's Play and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A View from Tara’s World, Age 10

  1. easylifestyles says:

    I love being with my family and I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our website.

    Check out These Fun Family Activities

  2. Tara says:

    This is a great piece of advice! I always thought being full of yourself was a bad thing, until I read this short idea! I can now proudly say I am (partially?) full of myself.

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

