It’s Spring (Kinda) in New England

Here in New England we have a reputation for being stoic.  That doesn’t mean we don’t complain about the cold.  We grumble a lot.

It was my day to drive my daughter’s 13 and 14 year-old friends to school– I pick them up at designated rendezvous.  The first one, usually full of good humor, greeted us in a flat monotone as if her mother had just taken away her iPod (a major disaster since this girl is addicted to Beatles’ tunes). 

“What’s that voice?” my daughter asked.

“That voice is that it’s March,” her friend replied with surprising vehemence, “and my hair froze on the way over here.”

I completely agree with the sentiment.  As soon as the vernal equinox has passed, hair should no longer be allowed to freeze.

I’m almost always a little behind schedule by the time I pick up the third girl.  She will do well in life– unlike me, she usually arrives on time.  Except today.  I didn’t see her standing on the corner.  And then, when I pulled over to park, she suddenly appeared.

“Sorry,” she said, “it’s freezing.  I waited across the street in the sun.”  (This from a girl who only last month waited in the usual spot in the shade and wind and cold and three feet of snow.  But it’s March now.  In fact, it’s almost April…).

As far as my youngest daughter is concerned, the decision to wear shorts should be dictated by the calendar (i.e. the first day of spring) regardless of the temperature.  (My oldest is a teenage boy and they wear hoodies year-round.  Go figure).

And what do I do when spring doesn’t get here fast enough?  I buy flowers.  Today I broke down and purchased two sexy, flamboyant orchids– optimistic flowers with attitude, they bloom when they damn well please and will hang in there for months.   I suppose someone must have told them this old adage: in New England, if you don’t like the weather, wait a minute. 

About HomenDunRoamin

Teaching Artist & Writer: fiction, poetry & nonfiction. Recently completed work: a hybrid memoir. In progress: a novel set in an unnamed Latin American country on the brink of war. The book examines violent and nonviolent resistance and the choices women are forced to make to survive.
This entry was posted in Vía-logue and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Spring (Kinda) in New England

  1. Liliana says:

    This is awesome. 🙂 It’s true though!!! Hair should not be able to freeze in the spring, thats just wrong.

  2. Tara says:

    This is lovely how you make little everyday incidents into a sort of skit you can see with your mind the more you read. I like how you managed to add a funny sentence at the very beginning that also seems to sum up the moral in the story while you streched it into a cute scene.

  3. Joya Lonsdale says:

    Long live sexy orchids. Well written, sweet and to the point.

I'd love to hear from you! Please share your thoughts.

